Ondo 2020: APC's Akeredolu defeat Jegede, Agboola, Others to see his re-election

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), has declared the candidate of of the All Progressive Congress (APC), Rotimi Akeredolu, as the winner of the October 10 governorship election in Ondo State.

According to the INEC returning officer for Ondo state who happens to be the Vice-chancellor of the University of Ibadan, Prof. Abel Idowu Olayinka, the incumbent governor had a total of 292,830 votes to beat his close counterpart, Eyitayo Jegede of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who garnered 195,791.

On the same note, the candidate of by the Zenith Labour Party (ZLP) and the incumbent deputy governor of the state, Agboola Ajayi, came third with a total votes of 62,127.

Declaring the winner, the returning officer said the declaration of Akeredolu as the winner of the last Saturday’s election is in satisfying the electoral requirements.

He said: “Having polled the highest number of votes and having satisfied all requirements, I hereby declare Oluwarotimi Akeredolu the governor-elect of Ondo State.”

SEE ALSO: Is SARS Really Gone? 5 Things to Know About Scrapping of SARS

Olayinka added that the governor was able to garnered more than 25 percent of the total votes casted, adding that the cancelled votes were lesser than the margin between him and his close counterpart.

The Vice-chancellor put the total number of votes cast at 572,745 out of which 18,538 votes were rejected while 16,709 were cancelled across the 18 local government areas of the state.

Nigeria News World gathered that the senior advocate of Nigeria won 15 out of the 18 local governments in the state.

While his closest rival, Eyitayo Jegede was able to win only 3 local governments which were within Akure where he hailed.

Also, NNW gathered that Akeredolu had also defeated his close rival in the face off in 2016 when he took over the mantle from his predecessor, Olusegun Mimiko.

However, the second runner-up and the flag bearer of the ZLP was unable to win a local government out of the 18 local governments in the state.

The embattled Agboola departed APC over an unsettling feud between him and his principal to join PDP with the hope of securing the governorship ticket of the party.

The ZLP candidate finally defected to his current party after losing the primary election in PDP and was allowed to flag the ZLP banner.

Meanwhile, the APC electoral council has described the victory as a signed of good governance in the state.

Get our news across social media: Facebook – Nigeria News World; Twitter – @naijanewsworld; Telegram – @naijanewsworld; WhatsApp – 08145286945

AD: Get domain name at the cheapest rate from Nigeria domain name provider, Click here.

One thought on “Ondo 2020: APC’s Akeredolu defeat Jegede, Agboola, Others to see his re-election”
  1. What i do not realize is in truth how you are not actually much more neatly-liked than you may be now. You are very intelligent. You recognize thus significantly in the case of this topic, produced me individually consider it from a lot of varied angles. Its like women and men aren’t involved unless it’s something to accomplish with Lady gaga! Your own stuffs nice. At all times handle it up!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Enable Notifications    Ok No thanks