Strike: Division in ASUU as Union Deliberate on FG’s Offer

Strike: Division in ASUU as Union Deliberate on FG’s Offer

The Academic Staff Union of Universities, ASUU, has been divided over the offer presented before the union by the federal government.

The Federal Government had last Thursday presented a new offer before the aggrieved union in an effort to end their 8-month strike.

Speaking on Monday on the offer, the Minister of Labour and Employment, Chris Ngige expressed confidence that the union is bound to accept this new offer.

The new offer increased the earned allowance of the University Lecturers from N30 billion to N35 billion and the Revitalisation Fund from N20 billion to N25 billion.

READ ALSO: 82,779 Police Officers Bags Promotion

It equally exempted the union from the Integrated Personnel Payroll System, IPPIS.

However, ASUU had decided to give feed back to its members on the new offer and return with feedback to the Federal Government on Tuesday to make known its decision.

In a series of tweet made available on the union’s twitter page, @asuungr, the union disclosed the resolution of its chapters on the ongoing strike action.

“#ASUU_STRIKE: Zonal chapters of the Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU) have said they will meet this week to review the union’s ongoing strike,” it tweeted.

The statement disclosed that ten (10) out of the fourteen (14) chapters which have sent their resolution supports that the union should accept the new offer and end its 8-month strike which began in March.

The 10 branches of ASUU has which supported that the union should accept the offer includes

Federal University Dutsin-ma (FUDMA)

Micheal Okpara University (MOUAU)

University of Maiduguri (UNIMAID)

University of Nigeria Nsukka (UNN)

Federal University of Technology Owerri (FUTO)

Umaru Musa Yaradua University (UMYU)

University of Calabar (UNICAL)

University of Ilorin (UNILORIN)

Ladoke Akintola University of Technology (LAUTECH)

Federal University of Technology Akure (FUTA)

READ ALSO: This Recession Will be short-lived, Says FG, Disclose when it will end

On a similar note, the four chapters which rejected the offer includes;

University of Port Harcourt (UNIPORT)

Federal University Lafia (FULAFIA)

Benue State University (BSU)

Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU)

Get our news across social media: Facebook – Nigeria News World; Twitter – @naijanewsworld; Telegram – @naijanewsworld; WhatsApp – 08145286945

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Enable Notifications    OK No thanks